Robot Drone: Update – 02/11/20

As previously mentioned in my Robot Drone post, I felt a spherical body would probably be more beneficial for my model, and with that I have decided to restart my drone, same concept, but different design. In relation to this I have also updated my concept art post.

The first drone I felt didn’t really capture my original vision for this project and seemed like it couldn’t fit into the real world with its body shape, this one however looks more ergonomic and approachable.

It is worth noting that the drone takes inspiration from the previous one with the satellites, but it also includes more subtle details such as an indent for a handle to open the storage compartment, the camera bump is now more recognizable and again, it looks ‘friendlier’. To accompany the drone, I will also make the dock that it charges on.

So now that the drone is modelled, it is time to start UV unwrapping and mapping textures to the drone. Looking back, I am happier that I have decided to make this new drone, as with the previous one, it wasn’t falling in line with my original vision for the drone.

To start, I made a sphere and then changed and rotation of it, I then selected some faces to extrude as the wings on the drone.

Keeping the faces selected, I then chose the bevel option and then reselected the inside faces for extrusion and angled them upwards using the translate tool. After this, I rotated the faces to make them point upwards and then extruded again.

I then extruded the faces pointing up and extruded it a little bit more, then selecting the faces on the two longest sides, extruded them out to create my satellite plating.

So far so good, that is one side of the drone done, all I had to do then was mirror it, but before that, I started working on the back of the drone. I selected the inner circle faces and extruded them into the model.

For the drone of the drone, I done the same thing, selected the inner circle faces and extruded into the drone. I then selected the edges and moved them towards the original position, creating some sort of bump in the face.

From there, I then mirrored the model and that was it. The basic model was complete.

Leave a comment