Meet Mat Challenge – 18/01/21

In todays session we were learning to use Substance Painter whilst participating in the Meet Mat challenge. This is where we paint the mascot of Substance Painter to a design that we choose. I took some inspiration from my Playstation for this challenge and used that as a colour scheme.

Substance Painter is a tool that requires alot of time and patience, I feel like it would be awesome for smaller details on Low Poly models but models with a lot of poly’s will require a lot more time. With this particular model, that challenging part for me was trying to get into the grooves on the face of the model.

As I am an experienced Photoshop user, the interface and tools available to me are top drawer, being able to mask and paint with multiple textures, and being able to change the colour of the materials is an added bonus. I also like that you can export the UV to Photoshop for some advanced texturing if you need to, I might try this to add a Playstation logo to my Meet Mat model.

As I’ve rendered my model, I have turned down the iterations of Rendering due to my laptop graphics card, This is the result of 88 iterations and it doesn’t look too bad.

At my second attempt, I have made a Zero Themed MeetMat. This is the result of using smart materials and smart masks. It adds more detail and life to the model by using these utilities, and makes the whole texturing process alot easier.

Smart Material applies the material to the model in a way that is best for the models shape and dynamic. A smart mask applies a mask to the layer and allows you to paint over the top for a desirable effect. I have used this in my Zero MeetMat for the rust effect.

Leave a comment