Baking High Poly Meshes – 22/2/21

In todays session, we were learning about baking our high poly cube meshes onto our low poly cubes. We done this through Substance Painter. Firstly, we created a new project and imported the low poly cube, then on the pane on the right hand side, we clicked on Bake Mesh Maps.

Then in the next menu, I turned up the sample size from 512 to 1024, turned up the dilation a little bit, imported my high poly cube, changed the max frontal and max rear and then set anti aliasing to 8×8 for a crisper texture. Most importantly, I set the match to By Mesh Name.

I then clicked Bake Mesh and awaited for the oven to ping as it was baking my high poly mesh to my low poly mesh. Roughly, 7 minutes later and this was the result.

Personally I feel like this is a good go, from certain angles it definitely does capture the original high poly mesh but then from other angles, you can tell it’s a low poly version of it. I think if I didn’t have massively bevelled edges or deep indents, this cube wouldn’t look half bad. I also feel the ridges for the centre-piece could have maybe also been bigger to prevent distortion. Other than that, I am happy about the result. I suppose using Substance Painter to texture it might make it look better.

Leave a comment