Self Evaluation – 19/04/21

To Evaluate my artwork, I have decided to go with the Drago set from my concept arts. The 4 questions I am mainly going to answer just from these concepts is.

  1. Have I got a clear focal point or have multiple focal points?
  2. Does the design make good use of dominant, sub dominant and subordinate shapes (Big, Medium and Small)?
  3. Have I got clear colour choices? 2 Complimentary colours or a split complimentary colour scheme?
  4. Do I make use of negative space?

In terms of the Drago Set, I tried to have one main focal point and that is the green shapes towards the middle of the objects. When it came to designing these concepts, I always had the idea of elemental damage or blocking in mind for these weapons and with this one, the matched elemental was a green. Imagine if in the video game, you can deal a poison or toxic damage or block incoming damage of the same type, that was the idea I was going for.

With the Shield the focal point is slap bang in the centre of the shield, whereas with the wrench, it is on the head of the object. I made these the dominant colour of green to draw the attention that way. The rest of the weapon is going to be made out of a metallic material so getting the colours to pop and stand out wasn’t an issue.

I believe that my concepts make good use of shapes. Firstly for the shield, it is a circular shape with an inner circle bevel. As I have used a symmetry function when drawing these concepts, the flow of the shapes sits nicely with one another. For the shield I tried to make good use of the space by adding some smaller details towards the centre.

The Wrench also makes good use of shapes and space. The weapon doesn’t look heavily weighted anywhere and does look as if it can offer the free flowing combat that it is designed to have. The handle has a large area to grip onto and features a bracket that would protect the knuckles. I suppose in terms of size, I could have made the actual weapon part a little bit bigger but at the moment, I think that it looks just fine.

In terms of colour choices, I have already mentioned the Green and metallic looks the concept art currently has, fact of the matter is, the materials I’m going to be using when it comes to 3D modelling these objects is going to be a metallic material followed by a neon Green transparent material. The colour doesn’t necessarily have to be green, I was also looking at Blue, Purple and Orange as anything will technically go with the metallic stylized look.

My concept art makes great use of negative space as I have used a black background and added some effects behind the objects to draw attention towards the weapon. Immediately my focus is turned towards the centre of the shield and the head of the wrench. For the shield I could have toned down the lens flares as they can be a little bit distracting.

Leave a comment