Sword and Shield Models – 28/05/21

For the sword and shield project, the concepts I decided to go with were the Vulkan concepts that I drew. I knew from the offset I wanted to make a weapon and shield that could potentially be part of the ratchet and clank universe and as a way to celebrate in ways, the upcoming release of rift apart, the wrench and shield seemed to sit comfortably with me.

Although my 3D models and textures don’t quite capture the same fiery aspect of the concept art, This could be used as an effect for when the weapon is active, however I have designed a stationary weapon and shield and decided to present them in a different light.

In essence, I believe I have captured the shapes in my 3D models very accurately as opposed to my concept art. Using standard workflow of image plane’s in Maya, I was able to manipulate primitive shapes to my concept art. I then took it into Substance Painter and used smart materials to texture my models.

I was going to have both models together and doing a 3D rotation however, I have had some difficulty replicating the textures in Maya from Substance Painter and have tried numerous methods. I even tried to photoshop the wrench and shield onto a picture of Ratchet from Ratchet and Clank however, was not able to find any success in doing so. Nevertheless, I am happy overall with the outcomes of this project. I set myself a goal of not doing a traditional sword and shield and went for something a bit more complex and I’m happy about that.

Leave a comment