Sword and Shield Research: Shields – 08/03/21

Shields are a defensive utility, they are used to block incoming attacks, I can’t say I know of many shields outside of Vikings and a couple of video games I have played but I have a few ideas that I can draw inspiration from.

Cabal Shield

Destiny 2 Cabal Shields are easily one of the best shields I’ve seen in any video game. The Shield itself is a diamond shape with a focal point in the center. What is so great about these shields is their ability to expand. Its an almost glass like material they use for the shield itself with metal surrounding each corner of the shield. If I was to design a shield like this, I would pair it with the Omniwrench.

Captain America

Probably the most iconic on this list, Captain America’s shield is instantly recognisable but when it comes down to it, it’s a very basic design. The shield itself is a circle and funnily enough, is more of a weapon than a shield. It features a star on the front and red and white circles surrounding the star, to represent America. The Shield also has grooves between each band of colour.

Hylian Shield

The Hylian Shield belongs in The Legend of Zelda series. The shield is a metallic material and features some tribal patterns towards the the top of the shield. The three triangles in the middle represent tri-force which is lore from the Legend of Zelda series and the red bird symbol represents the Hylian Knights who were the ones who would weild the shield. The shield is bolted together by three screws. I think something like this could be paired with Bills Sword or the Black Talon.

Forcefield from Star Wars The Phantom Menace

Phantom Menace is regarded as one of the worst star wars films in the franchise, I personally think they’re all a bit boring however, I am going to take some inspiration from the forcefields as seen in the scene above. Technically speaking this is a shield but I was thinking something more sci-fi like where the shield comes out of a device on the users wrist. The shield would be a metal bar with hollow circles on one side for the user to put their hand through, then like a light sabre, the shield would come out of the top and bottom.

Protego

This one is a bit ambitious. This is the Protego spell from the Harry Potter series. Protego would generate an invisible overshield to the caster. If I had a staff like weapon, I could design something that would accompany the staff to act as a shield such as this, it would be a spell, but a visible one.

Leave a comment