Core Principles Reflection – 16/03/21

In todays Game Design session, we played a game of Kahoot! for revision purposes, well not me, I don’t play Kahoot. I win it. Except for this one, this one was the one that got away. Out of 40 Questions I got 35 correct and 5 wrong, however I can dispute a couple of those down to personal opinion and question wording. I personally think I had an outstanding performance, although it may not seem like it.

Questions such as ‘A rewarding experience doesn’t keep a player engaged’ is subject to personal preference. As is ‘High Skill & Low Challenge doesn’t lead to boredom’ and ‘High Challenge and Low Skill keeps a player engaged’.

The first one I can relate to in the form of Destiny, you get rewarded for playing weekly objectives, however once you hit a cap, the reward and the experience does start to decrease. The second question I can relate to in the form of Call of Duty, as an example, and a thing that us skilled players call pub stomping, where you go into public lobbies and outmatch everyone else. The third question is relatable to people who love a challenge, practice makes perfect as the saying goes.

Question 31 was ‘All game genres are trends’. This was misleading as the question implies that all game genres can qualify as a trend, not what is currently trending. Question 34 ‘Remasters of popular titles are NOT a trend’ was answered in mistake on my part, I misread the question. So with all that said and done, could I have achieved a perfect 40? Absolutely. Remember.

I DON’T PLAY KAHOOT!, I WIN IT.

Leave a comment